SHOUT OUT
Congratulations Kimberly Castillo on the publication of The Convenience of Lies. Great news when one of our word press bloggers publishes.

Lit World Interviews

Self-Publishing is the Future

by Kimberly Castillo

Kimberly_Castillo

Author of The Convenience of Lies

Two separate small publishers offered me contracts to publish The Convenience of Lies. I turned both of them down because I didn’t like the terms they were offering. For both contracts I would receive minimal royalties (less than $0.25/copy sold), would be required to do all of my own publicity, and I would have to sign away the rights to my book. One publisher even required me to pay my own editor! At that point, it seemed like all the publishers were really providing for me was cover art and prestige, and for a very high price.

To be honest, I didn’t want to sell myself out like this. The Convenience of Lies is a project I started 10 years ago and I have truly invested my heart, time, money, and soul. While I was shopping my…

View original post 479 more words

