This was not a good fit for me. While I applaud the notion of rehabilitation and finding resources of faith in incarceration, I didn’t find the author’s voice authentic. Maybe this is due to ghost writer assistance or editing, or both.

I worked as an executive for an agency that manages Job Corps Centers, including the one Rutledge attended. These government funded agencies can be a turn around for at-risk youth but the student has to commit. Rutledge’ s lack of commitment and responsibility, especially to prostitute runaways he helped prey upon, really bothered me. It’s like he dismissed his criminal activity on one, “I wasn’t so awful” and two, “it’s my upbringing”.There is certainly statistical merit to this argument. However, the author’s voice does not match the nature of his true story.

This could be due to the editing and not the subject. Overall, not my favorite on the subject and a missed opportunity to provide a relatable narrative to at-risk youth and related parties like the Folsoms. See Sister Helen Prejean for seemingly  truer to life death row rehab stories. Or better yet, see some at -risk youth in action by volunteering somewhere!

Provided by Publisher

