2a2Luther and Katharina by Jody Hedlund is a Historical Novel about the relationship between Martin Luther and Nun Katharina Von Bora during the 16th Century Catholic Reformation. This novel begins with a group of nuns led by Katharina escaping their abusive Abbey as they have been inspired by Luther’s forbidden writings. Hedlund’s writing has already carried me away in the first 40 pages so I have high expectations for this one. Plus, this period is rich with fascinating history.

Next, Is Rachel Held Evans’ Searching for Sunday: Loving, Leaving, and Finding the Church. I’ve read so many wonderful reviews of this in the past few weeks, I had to read it.  Held Evans represents a generation of churchgoers who wish to be all-inclusive rather than exclusionary.

Struggling with faith and spirituality and where to worship are themes that interest me more as I age and examine my own beliefs. It seems there are many who go through this same self-examination as well as scrutiny of various Church Doctrine. Including Luther and Katharina!

On a lighter note, is a murder mystery by Lida Siders. Murder and Other Unnatural Disasters is about an entertainment lawyer on the trail of a murderer. This looks like great fun and a full review will be featured in the next few weeks.

Finally, I had so much fun at the 5k Color Run, I started Lucy Fry’s Run, Ride, Sink or Swim. This is about Fry’ s year in the world of women’s triathlon. The book starts with a hectic open water swim that is described as if you are there flailing your limbs along with her. This should definitely be interesting and entertaining and hopefully a little inspiring.

So, we’ve got some history, religion, sport and mystery. What are you reading?

