IT’S MONDAY! WHAT ARE YOU READING?

badge
This week, John Irving will be interviewed by American Historian Sam Tanenhaus for the Kentucky Author Forum and I will be there. Irving is one of my favorite authors and I hope his latest is as good as Garp and Cider House Rules. I am also a big fan of Prayer for Owen Meany.  World According to Garp is in my all-time best books forever no doubt list and I find each time I read it, it’s like reading a different book, depending on where I am in life. The first time I read it was in High School so it has followed me through some years. It is also one of my mist cherished first editions and I hope to have Irving sign it for me.
Next on my list this week is Gillian Flynn’s The Grownup. This originally appeared in Rogues, a George R. R. Martin Anthology. If you are trying to get your hands on it at the library, try it under that title and save some waiting list notches. The first two sentences of the story immediately drew me in: “I didn’t stop giving hand jobs because I wasn’t good at it. I stopped giving hand jobs because I was the best at it.”  You can count on Flynn to be raw and in your face. Plus, I wasn’t ever sure if hand job(s) was a compound word or not. Educational, is Flynn, as well.
For my mystery read this week, I’ve been  into Helen H.  Durrant’s series featuring Bayliss and Calladine, which I highly recommend. D.I. Greco was introduced in their last series adventure and Dark Matter is the start of Greco’s own. If it is as good as Durrant’s previous novels, it should be a real treat. If you like Peter Robinson, you will like this series. Character development is just as important as the crime(s) being solved and both are nicely balanced.
Other books mentioned
