top ten books we wouldn’t mind santa leaving under our trees this year

For future Top Ten Tuesday topics & info on how to participate, click here for details from the Broke and the Bookish!

This Week’s Topic

Top Ten Books We Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under Our Trees This Year — This is a tough one as my  Wish List of Books is Lengthy!

  1. The Ghosts of K2 By Mick Conefrey– I am a mountaineering junkie so this is a natural pick to add to my ever growing shelf.
  2. Leather Bound Bible Journal–I love this idea of having an actual Bible Journal with prompts and space to write, draw, paste, etc your thoughts and pictures in your bible to make it a true journal.  I read about this on someone else’s  blog but can’t remember the name of the blog.
  3. S. Created by JJ. Abrams and Authored by Doug Dorst is a quest of two college bibliophiles who investigate the conspiracy around an enigmatic writer and his novel is a creation in itself with 22 inserts to help with the storytelling.
  4. Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff is on just about everyone’s best of 2015 list including the POTUS. An examination of a marriage over the course of 24 years. I loved Arcadia and the Monsters of Templeton so I have high expectations for this one.
  5. Browsings by Michael Dirda is a collection of 50 of the Pulitzer Prize Winning Critic’s essays. Bibliophile must.
  6. A House of My Own by Sandra Cisneros is described as an illustrated jigsaw autobiography.  I have been a fan since Mango Street.
  7. The World Atlas of Street Art and Graffiti by Rafael Schacter is just what it says it is.  I love street art. A great addition to my art Library.
  8. The Century of Artists’ Books by Johanna Drucker is back in print. A study of more than 200 books as an artform in itself, the artists’ book as its own medium.  Art and books, need I say more?
  9. Body and Spirit: Tibetan Medical Paintings by Laila Williamson Copies of Tangkas reproduced for study depicting human endeavor from farming to meditation.
  10. Animalium: Welcome to the Museum by Jenny Broom is a book with 200 species listed as a museum wall of the printed page.  I would love to peruse the book with my daughter and delight in the illustrations with her whenever we want a museum trip.

kztop108

top1015top10111top106top105top1017top107

 

