bookshelf love {reading challenge}

I came across this great challenge at The Book Hoarder at https://thebookhoarderblog.wordpress.com/ and couldn’t wait to share it. Chances are if you are reading this blog you have books piled up or shelved that you haven’t read. If you don’t, then definitely leave me a comment! If you do, read on…

Guidelines

1. choose a time frame for your challenge
2. select a stack of unread books from your shelves/piles/boxes/book hoard
3. post a photo and/or list of the books on your blog or social media, along with the chosen time frame
4. use the challenge image in your post (if posting on a blog) and link back to the page at The Book Hoarder
5. leave a link to your post in the comments at http://poetreeandbooks.blogspot.com/2016/02/bookshelf-love-reading-challenge.html  so you can be added  you to the list of participants
6. read, read, read!
7. donate, sell, giveaway, or recycle any books still unread at the end of the challenge

My Timeframe 2/7-6/7

My Rant Most of these are books from Goodwill and the Used Bookstore, still in bags, because I buy books like some people buy shoes. And I can’t stand for books to not have a good home, like I thought mine was. But it isn’t. What sad little book or Great American Novel wants to be stifled in a bag for months on end never to be read? I could be donating it to someplace so another book addict like The Book Hoarder could give it a home. Or, there’s a very good chance I would buy that exact same book again to make it live in another suffocating, plastic bag. Poor book. This is why I love this challenge! Save the books from me, the slum Lord Librarian. And I have allowed for one book a week over the next four months, so some of these bound babies are just going to have to suffer.

The Books

  1. The Good Spy: The Life and Death of Robert Ames by Kai Bird
  2. Quicksand by Steve Toltz
  3. The Last Temptation of Christ by Nikos Kazantzakis
  4. A Long Shadow by Charles Todd
  5. Run by Ann Patchett
  6. The End of the Wasp Season by Denise Mina
  7. Die Again by Tess Gerritsen
  8.  Shame by Alan Russell
  9. The Magicians by Lev Grossman
  10. White Fire by Preston and Child
  11. The Last Season by Eric Blehm
  12. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson
  13. Why I Jumped by Tina Zahn
  14. The Great Fire by Shirley Hazzard
  15. Tai Pei by Tao Lin
  16. The Valley of Amazement by Amy Tan

