Every Tuesday, Bibliophile by the Sea athttp://bibliophilebythesea.blogspot.com/  hosts First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros where you share the first paragraph or sometimes two from a book you are reading or thinking about reading soon.

 

Falling into dead air felt nothing like I thought it would. I’d spent much of my life trying not to think about it. It was my worst nightmare. After twenty years of going up rock faces and mountains, the idea of free-falling through the air was essentially x-ed out in my brain. Because you can’t think about falling when you’re climbing, or you won’t go climbing anymore. In the few instances during my climbing career when my mind had flicked there, I’d yanked it right back. I figured if the big fall ever came, it would all be over, wham, just like that. I’d slip off. I’d start falling. A stab of panic. Then somehow I would just disappear or everything would go black or something. And that would be it. The end.

 

Flip to back

See all 3 images

Learning to Fly: A Memoir of Hanging On and Letting Go Paperback – November 3, 2015

