I just finished listening to

Ex Libris: Confessions of a Common Reader by [Fadiman, Anne]
Kindle App Ad

Ex Libris: Confessions of a Common Reader Kindle Edition

 If you are a bibliophile, this book should grace your shelves. I read the hardbound copy a while back  and picked up the audio version recently. Some perks of the audio version include the pronunciation of some very lengthy words as well as some foreign languages rather than the butchering I gave them in my own reading. I enjoyed both versions but have to say as a true book lover, you need this on your shelf, your stack, your bedside table.

Some of my favorite pieces are about the marrying of libraries and when Fadiman receives 19 pounds of used books for her birthday. Fadiman’s constant reference to her preference for used books steered me to the used book store, where I picked up the following:

 

Napa Wine by Robert Louis Stevenson

The Alchemy of Books by Lawrence Clark Powell signed

Gender, Art and Death by Janet Todd

Walking a Literary Labyrinth by Nancy M. Malone

Avid Reader by Robert Gottlieb

Angels & Aliens by Mary Morris

The Temple of Dawn by Yukio Mishima

Provenance by Laney Salisbury

A Sport and A Pastime by James Salter

Niagara Falls All Over Again by Elizabeth McCracken

 

I can’t wait to start reading my haul. Do you prefer new books or used ones? I prefer used ones.

 

