Listen  

See this image

Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel Hardcover– Deckle Edge, February 14, 2017

Worth Getting in Bed for? Yes.

I just finished listening to this today and am going back to read it as I don’t want to miss a thing. the audio is unlike anything I’ve heard, with a cast of 166 led by the author, David Sedaris, appearances by Susan Sarandon. I will listen to it again. magical and melancholy, the story of young Willie Lincoln’s death and his stopping place captures the imagination and is a literary and audio achievement. the historical references make up a record that is much like the telephone game where the shape of the moon or the color of Abe’s eyes come into play. I enjoyed recognizing some of the books on Lincoln and guessing which were Saunder’s creation. clever and entertaining, this is not one you want to miss. I highly recommend the audio, although I usually listen to nonfiction. throw in the text version so you don’t miss anything!

