Flip to back
Listen  

See all 3 images

The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel (The Mistresses of Versailles Trilogy) by Sally Christie

From the Publisher. “An intriguing romp through Louis XV’s France. Filled with lush backdrops, rich detail, and colorful characters, fans of historical fiction will enjoy this glimpse into the lost golden era of the French monarchy.” (Allison Pataki, author of The Accidental Empress)

“A stunning breadth of period detail, offered in a fresh, contemporary voice.” (Juliet Grey, author of the acclaimed Marie Antoinette trilogy)

“Tantalizing descriptions and cliff-hangers will leave the reader rapidly turning the pages in anticipation…A wickedly delightful read.” (New York Daily News)

Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear.

Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet—and women—forward. The King’s scheming ministers push sweet, naïve Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and three of her younger sisters—ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne—will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power as each becomes the king’s favorite for a time.

In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versaillesis a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie’s stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood—of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

 

 

Worth Getting in Bed For? Yes. “Reputation is an egg: once cracked, it can never be whole again.” And the Nesle sisters collect many cracks through their  interactions with King Louis XV. Christie shares an evocative story told from the perspective of each of the sisters. The lush detail of the clothing and decor at court come to life. The political and social maneuvering are in play. And the seduction and sin are sometimes innocent and sometimes terribly wicked.  Although the book started out a bit slow, it picked up and became somewhat of a pageturner if only to see which sister would betray, seduce or reconcile next. After all, “What would it be like to be kissed by France?”  is a pretty heady thought to hold in your perfectly powdered head when introduced to the wonders of Versailles and your king. Now to read the next one in the trilogy.

 

Provided by TLC BOOK TOURS

 

 

About the Author. Sally Christie is the author of The Sisters of Versailles and The Rivals of Versailles. She was born in England and grew up around the world, attending eight schools in three different languages. She spent most of her career working in international development and currently lives in Toronto. Visit SallyChristieAuthor.com to find out more about Sally and the Mistresses of Versailles trilogy.

 

 

Advertisements