See all 2 images

The Girl Who StayedHardcover – April 19, 2016 by Tanya Anne Crosby

From the Publisher.

Zoe Rutherford wasn’t sure what she was expecting when she returned to Sullivan’s Island. The house on Sullivan’s hadn’t represented home to her in decades. It was the place where she endured her father’s cruelty. It was the place where her mother closed herself off from the world. It was the place where her sister disappeared. But now that her parents are gone, Zoe needs to return to the house, to close it down and prepare it for sale. She intends to get this done as quickly as possible and get on with the rest of her life, even though that life seems clouded by her past, both distant and recent. But what she discovers when she gets there is far beyond her imagining and will change her in profound ways.
THE GIRL WHO STAYED is a remarkable exploration of the soul by a writer with a rare talent for reaching into the hearts of her characters and her readers, a novel of transformation that will leave you moved and breathless.
Worth Getting in Bed For? Yes. This story brings Sullivan’s Island to life with the lush descriptions of the beaches, colorful sunsets and quaint small town life. Crosby writes in a way that requires you to read between the lines, she doesn’t tell you what to think with each sentence. The main character, Zoe finds herself staying literally and figuratively throughout the story, told in flashbacks interspersed with the present day. There is the mystery of Zoe’s sister’s disappearance that features prominently and Crosby ups the ante with additional missing girls.  Reader’s of mystery and women’s fiction will be drawn to the story.  You will find yourself rooting for Zoe as she comes to various decisions in her troubled life. The Girl Who Stayed is a girl who will stay with you.
Copy provided by TLC Book Tours and the Publisher

About the Author

Tanya Anne Crosby is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of twenty-five novels. She has been featured in magazines, such as People, Romantic Times and Publisher’s Weekly, and her books have been translated into eight languages. Her first novel was published in 1992 by Avon Books, where Tanya was hailed as “one of Avon’s fastest rising stars.” Her fourth book was chosen to launch the company’s Avon Romantic Treasure imprint. Known for stories charged with emotion and humor and filled with flawed characters Tanya is an award-winning author, journalist, and editor, and her novels have garnered reader praise and glowing critical reviews. In 2013, she penned her first romantic suspense novel, Speak No Evil, which appeared on the USA Today list. The Girl Who Stayed brings her full circle to work with Lou Aronica, President and Publisher of The Story Plant, who first published Tanya at Avon Books. Tanya and her writer husband split their time between Charleston, SC, where she was raised, and northern Michigan, where the couple make their home.
tlc tour host